lifestyle · personal

Photo Diary // Sick Day

Hey, guys. Guess who’s sick again? I guess I brought it upon myself though, because a few days ago I remarked on the fact that it had been a surprisingly long time since I’d been sick. Well, anyway, since I wasn’t very productive yesterday I thought I’d share some photos and tips for how I spend my sick days. Because, you know, if you didn’t take a picture of it, did it really happen? Sometimes in my hazy, mucus-filled head, I truly don’t know.


wash face
9:50am: Washed my face. On a sick day, I find that nothing helps me feel a little less groggy and a little more like a normal human than washing my face. I take a little extra time to massage the areas around my sinuses as I cleanse. Pictured: Clarins gentle foaming cleanser with cottonseed, Kiehl’s ultra facial toner, Clinique dramatically different moisturizing gel, terrycloth headband. 
naked
10:40am: Drank this green juice. I don’t know if it actually did anything, but it tasted energizing and refreshing and made me feel better. 
laptop
11:00am: Commenced watching Kings of Pastry on my laptop. When I’m sick, I find there’s no better distraction from feeling gross than Netflix. Side note: Kings of Pastry is an amazing film, and I highly recommend it to everyone, especially if you’re interested in French cuisine or pastry making. 
soup
12:30pm: Ordered this Thai vegetable coconut soup from seamless.com for lunch. If there’s every a time when it’s okay to spend a ridiculous amount of money on soup, it’s when your sick. #NoShame. 
tea
1:00-5:00pm: Drank many cups of tea. First rule of being sick: stay hydrated! Hot tea soothed my sore throat after I gargled with warm salt water and later with apple cider vinegar. Not the most enjoyable experience, but it definitely helped. 

10:30pm: Went to sleep. Rest is key for fast healing.

Well, that’s how I spent my sick day. I hope this helped any of you who are currently sick, or if any of you are sick in the future. If you have any tips for getting over a nasty cold fast, share them in the comments. Stay healthy!

xx,

Sous Sus Chef

Leave a Reply

