dinner · GAPS · gluten free · lunch and dinner · paleo · roasting · SCD · Uncategorized · weekly prep · weeknight

Weekly Meal Planning and My Go-To Chicken Recipe

In my last post, I told you that I’m on a modified version of GAPS/SCD diet right now, and a major part of any extremely restrictive diet is food prep, since most processed/ready made foods contain ingredients that are illegal on the diet. That said, it can be hard to know how much food to prepare for the week. It helps to know your schedule and appetite well, but when in doubt, I always make more than I think I’ll need. I also always make sure I have grab and go foods like pickles, nut butters, sliced cheeses, and lactose free kefir available just in case I do run out of everything else. Now that I’m out of the intro stage of my diet, it’s a lot easier to be prepared, since there are at least a few foods I can eat without having to cook anything.

However, this chicken recipe is something I make every week, usually twice. It’s simple and relatively quick to make, flavorful, moist, and delicious, which checks all the boxes for me these days. Also, I always save the bones from this dish to use in broth later on in the week to get the most for my money, and I switch up my spice combinations so I don’t get tired of eating the same thing every week.

Let me know if you try this recipe in the comments below. Happy cooking!


Weekly Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 8-10 bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs (or however many you can fit on a baking sheet without them touching)
  • baking paper
  • baking sheet
  • salt and pepper
  • smoked paprika
  • turmeric
  • cumin

A note about seasoning: Depending on the day, I mix up the spices I use for this recipe, so feel free to substitute your favorite combination for the ones listed. Also, I never measure how much I use, so just eyeball it. Make sure you don’t use too much smoked paprika, because if you overdo it, it’ll overpower all the other spices. Remember, you can always add more later on if necessary.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and line your baking sheet with aluminum foil. Rinse the chicken thighs well under running water. Pat them dry with paper towels, and place them skin side up on the lined baking sheet. Season the thighs with salt, pepper, smoked paprika, cumin, and turmeric.

weekly-chicken-1

Bake the chicken thighs for 45-50 minutes, or until a meat thermometer inserted into the center of the thighs reads between 185 and 195 degrees Fahrenheit. Turn the oven up to broil and bake for an additional 3-5 minutes, until the skin is crispy but not burned. (Check them often, this bit normally takes less time than you think it does).

weekly-chicken-3 weekly-chicken-2

Remove the chicken from the oven and serve immediately, or allow it to cool and then store in containers in the fridge. Reheat as needed throughout the week.

 

One thought on “Weekly Meal Planning and My Go-To Chicken Recipe

Leave a Reply

