reviews

Sous Sus Reviews: Seasonal Larabar Flavors

Before I was diagnosed with IBD, I would always look forward to seasonal foods I got to enjoy around the holidays. With the beginning of fall came the anticipation of pumpkin and apple pie, mashed potatoes, stuffing, and gingerbread. It wasn’t only the foods themselves; the experience of making and eating and sharing them with my family was the part I cared about most.

Though this year I won’t be partaking in these items, I fully intend to indulge in foods I don’t normally eat while sticking to my diet and spending time with family. And, thanks to Larabar’s seasonal flavors, I won’t miss out on the spicy-sweet flavors and the ubiquitous PSL associated with this wonderful time of year.

img_9899

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There are three delicious varieties: Snickerdoodle, Pumpkin Pie, and Gingerbread. All the bars are made from nuts, dates, spices, dried fruit, and vanilla extract, so they are all GAPS diet compliant, as well as being gluten free, vegan, and paleo. In terms of which ones are closest to their real-life namesake, Pumpkin Pie takes first with Gingerbread as a very close second. The dried pumpkin and spice mixture are truly reminiscent of pumpkin pie, along with the chewy, moist texture. The Gingerbread flavor nails that unmistakeable deep and spicy taste, though it’s a little sweeter than I like my gingerbread. Snickerdoodle is great as well, but in my opinion it just doesn’t hold a candle to the other two.

Obviously, these aren’t exact replicas of traditional fall treats, but they are delicious, healthier alternatives. Make sure to try them before they’re gone and let me know what your favorite flavor is in the comments below!

 

 

Leave a Reply

